8 charged for breaching Anti-Corruption Code in Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021


The International Cricket Council (ICC), acting on behalf of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), has levied charges against eight cricket participants, including players and officials, for a breach of various elements of the ECB Anti-Corruption Code during the T10 League. The charges stem from the 2021 Abu Dhabi T10 Cricket League and are related to attempts to corrupt the integrity of matches within the tournament.

The roles and responsibilities of the ICC in this matter were to preside as the Designated Anti-Corruption Official (DACO) for the purposes of implementing the ECB’s code. Therefore, the ICC is the body issuing the charges on the ECB’s behalf.

Among those charged are Krishan Kumar Chaudhury and Parag Sanghvi, co-owners of a team, Ashar Zaidi, a batting coach, and Rizwan Javed and Saliya Saman, both domestic players. Charges range from failing to promptly disclose to the DACO details of corrupt conduct by another participant, obstruction or delay of a DACO investigation, and placing bets on an international and domestic match.

Other charges include being involved in attempts to improperly influence or fix matches or aspects of matches, and offering rewards to others in exchange for engaging in corrupt conduct. In addition to these charges, Nasir Hossain, a Bangladesh player, is charged with not disclosing to the DACO receipt of a gift valued over $750, and Shadab Ahamed, a team manager, was cited for failing to cooperate with the DACO’s investigation.

Following the issuance of the charges, six of the accused including Krishan Kumar Chaudhary, Parag Sanghvi, Ashar Zaidi, Rizwan Javed, Saliya Saman, and Sunny Dhillon, have been handed temporary suspensions. All the charged individuals have until September 19, 2023, to respond to the charges.

This incident is a stark reminder of the significant task in maintaining integrity in cricket and the necessity of robust anti-corruption codes and mechanisms to safeguard the spirit of the sport.

Edited By:

sabyasachi chowdhury

Published On:

Sep 19, 2023


Leave a Comment